Last updateMon, 15 Jun 2020 10pm

Back You are here: Home News News Local Corn Stock presents annual awards

Corn Stock presents annual awards

Log in to save this page.


Jack Duffy, a long-time member of Corn Stock Theatre and former president of the organization's board of directors, was named winner of the Gretchen Iben Award at Corn Stock's annual Reco Dinner.

Duffy was presented the award, which recognizes outstanding leadership in and for the organization, by the 2010 Iben winner, Erica Franken.

75680492 Corn_Stock_TheatreDuffy served as president of Corn Stock in the late 1990s and through 2000, during a tumultuous period in the organization's history, but led through that period and to new heights.

The award is named for one of the founders of Corn Stock Theatre, which just completed its 58th season. She co-founded the organization with Richard Chandler, directed its first play, "Gigi," and was its first president.

Other awards presented were:

• Bill and Jill Barr, the William O. Nicholson Sterling Quality Award for work performed on and off stage during the recent season at the Corn Stock Tent.

• Vic Burnett, the Applause! Award for his enthusiasm inspiration leadership during "Cats."

• Trev Neff, the Welcome to the Theatre Award for his involvement in several winter and summer productions in his first year at Corn Stock.

• Megan Larke, the Golden Ears Award presented to a person who helped backstage more than one show during the summer season.

• Sue and Paul Gordon, the Leonard Costa Lab Award for service performed at the Winter Playhouse.

Scholarship winners were Connor Parkhurst, the Costa Scholarship, and Remmington Kapp, the Robert Johnson Scholarship.


About the Author
Paul Gordon is the editor of The Peorian after spending 29 years of indentured servitude at the Peoria Journal Star. He’s an award-winning writer, raconteur and song-and-dance man. He also went to a high school whose team name is the Alices (that’s Vincennes Lincoln High School in Indiana; you can look it up).